jump to navigation

Surrender Your Game February 5, 2010

Posted by hoopmasters in 1.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Surrender Your Game
Jerome Green

Don’t have a left hand? Can’t dribble with your head up? It is probably time to surrender. Yes, surrender. Magic, Bird, Jordan and Kobe all did it. Every summer they took stock in what part of their games needed work and then proceeded to put the work in. They had the unique ability to surrender to the process of what it takes to develop excellence.

Recently I was reading a comment on my Face Book page by an ex-player of mine and he said.

“ I will never surrender”.

It triggered something in me on why so many players today (Pro, college, H.S and youth) may not be improving at the rate they should be. They are refusing to surrender to the learning process. I think many people confuse surrender with submission. They are two different actions entirely. In fact most of us submit to doing the same dumb things over and over and refuse to acknowledge that it’s time to do something new. To surrender requires discovery and learning to take place. To submit is to continue being stuck in old patterns that don’t work and have an expiration date. Surrendering keeps you up to date and current.

Surrendering requires a pedantic approach to learning. The process can be addictive and fun. Why continue doing something the same stupid way over and over again? Well, for one, it’s safe, comfortable and gives the illusion of being easier. In truth the refusal to surrender is an avoidance of relaxation. Once you surrender to something, you stop the internal fight and await the adventure. I know when I surrender I breath a lot deeper, laugh more and really enjoy the process. When I submit to my way or the highway. My breathing is shallow, my listening is restrictive and my fun meter is below the poverty line.

Some of the greatest athletes like a Usain Bolt at some point in their development embraced their talents and then proceeded to learn how to develop them. Gretchen Bleiler the Winter X Games champion snowboarder says:

“ As a professional snowboarder, it’s my job to scare myself every day,” Bleiler said. “Lots of people say, ‘You must never be afraid of anything.’ It’s not the case at all. I am afraid — but it’s getting past it and having the confidence in yourself that you can push past those boundaries.”

Gretchen is able to acknowledge the fear and then surrender to learning how to get past it. One has to get past your fears of looking bad, not doing well, being awkward in order to reach your full potential as a player and a person. If not, just submit to being the same player and person who just gets older, but not that much better.

When you learn to surrender you will then become a better student, better athlete and most importantly a person of principle and strength. To SURRENDER is to show strength, to submit is to commit to your weaknesses.

Comments»

1. Carmen O'Connor - February 8, 2010

I like this article Jerome and I told Ish one of my acting teacher’s motto’s “Dare to Suck”. The day I had that talk with him, he played with physicality I hadn’t seen from him before in terms of being faster and jumping higher – he seemed free of hesitating to see if his next move would work. He just went for it!
See you soon.
Carmen

2. Jerome - February 8, 2010

Hey Carmen,

Appreciate your comments and yes “Dare to Suck”, is a very important point. That is something I did with my High School guys when they were 10 years old. I told them that they Sucked, not as people, but as basketball players and to get better they had to work at it. They did and went on to win the regional in their age group

3. atlanta fitness center - May 11, 2013

Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this site, and paragraph is really fruitful in support of me, keep up posting these content.

4. Fantasy Baseball - July 26, 2013

Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
My site covers a lot of the same subjects as
yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each
other. If you are interested feel free to send me an email.

I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

5. 86Polly - August 19, 2017

I have noticed you don’t monetize your website, don’t
waste your traffic, you can earn additional cash every month because you’ve got high quality content.
If you want to know how to make extra bucks, search for: best
adsense alternative Wrastain’s tools


Leave a comment